Image Slider

Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts

CRUISING THE WAY IN THE 2016 MAZDA6 GRAND TOURING

October 24, 2015

A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of preparing to attend the super-adorned AfroPunk Atlanta event. I made plans to go and take some beautiful photos for my latest startup business, CreateHER Stock but unfortunately, AfroPunk cancelled on everyone last minute due to crappy weather.

LUMINESS AIR AIRBRUSH MAKEUP SYSTEM + THOUGHTS

August 30, 2015

A few weeks ago, I was sent an airbrush kit from Luminess Air, a company that offers airbrush makeup kits for women who like to "spray". I've only had one other experience with airbrush makeup in my life and that was about 4 years ago when I worked for a makeup studio. The owner used me as her muse to see how my regular foundation differed from that of a brush on foundation. Needless to say, I enjoyed how easy it was.

Using the TGIN Shampoo + Conditioner Duo for Natural Hair

July 11, 2015
tgin shampoo and conditioner duo


A couple of months ago I took the initiative to once more lead by example and make it my duty to support some Black-owned businesses. If you're familiar with my blog or online reputation then you know I am all for putting money back into our community.

I stumbled upon Thank God I'm Natural or TGIN natural haircare products. I instantly got excited so of course I made a purchase. I was able to purchase their products with a discount so I was winning! I wanted to try out a new shampoo and conditioner duo as well as a soap.

A TALE OF BLACK RADIANCE

June 17, 2015

May I start off by saying that makeup should be used to enhance your features, not give you an entire facelift to make you look like another person (unless you're an artist for a living) - but that's another story.

My Experience With #TIDALforALL

May 5, 2015
my experience with tidal

Tidal - something you may feel is the greatest failure in music history if you only go by what others tweet throughout Black Twitter. I wanted to think the latter and give it a fair chance before passing judgment. Even more so after catching Jay-Z defending the company with #TidalFacts this past week.

If you're not familiar with Tidal, think of it as the Hulu Plus version of Spotify vs the Netflix version. No, Jay-Z does not own 100% of the company but he does hold a pretty penny portion of stake. Tidal is a lossless audio streaming service. In other words, quality is way better when it comes to HOW you listen to your music.

I gave Tidal a try. They have two subscriptions available that will each allow you to take a test drive for 30 days. Tidal Premium is the standard version and sound for $9.99 a month and Tidal HiFi is the lossless high fidelity sound quality version that's 19.99 a month. I chose to give the HiFi a go since I can experience standard on free streaming apps. My thoughts:

Pros

  • Very Hi-Res video (1080p)
  • Sound quality is immaculate compared to Spotify app.
  • Love the exclusive behind the scenes footage.
Cons

  • I don't listen to music enough to truly enjoy the app.
  • $19.99 a month is pointless to pay in my case.
my experience with tidal
My Smartphone Screenshot


A lot of people call Tidal a fail simply because of what they saw. It's a "These folks rich already, why should I pay to listen to your music when I can do it for free?" - it's not about paying them more, it's about the experience they want their fans to have. I'm not a fangirl but hey. Of course, they'll continue to make their bread. It's a business. 

In my opinion, the overall experience is definitely great but unless you're a die-hard music addict or blogger in the industry niche for this, then you might not find Tidal of any use and just stick to the freebies. I did appreciate the exclusive footage though. If the goal of Tidal is to support more "underground" artists or however, I feel that celebrity conference should have enlisted the underground artists to represent instead of the multi-millionaire artists who have already "made it".

Overall, if you haven't given Tidal a try, check it out here. I'm still in my trial period (like many) but I'm sure continuing my subscription will not happen.


HAVE YOU TRIED TIDAL? WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS ON IT?


INSTANT EDGE SMOOTHING POMADE

April 28, 2015
instant edge smoothing pomade

I've clearly fallen off the face of the Earth when it comes to my natural hair posts. Excuse me while I go give myself the pep talk of the century....

...ok, I'm back.

I've honestly been neglecting my kinky curlies up until over a week ago. Aside from the normal moisturizing and failure to detangle - thus causing my build up and wash-day struggle to seem like a never-ending battle of the cobwebs.

I recently gave a not so new product a try just to see if I would like it ....or not. To save you some time, I'll go ahead and share that I don't have like it, why I figured I wouldn't like it, and why I bought it anyway.

I adore my 4C natural hair for its wildness and sometimes willingness to cooperate and give a good hair day. Unless I'm rocking a fro or twist out- my edges though, I prefer them to be sleek. Not Lil Boosie wipe me down sleek but sleek with minimal frizz.

The instant edge smoothing pomade from Shine wasn't a great use for me. Although the wax consistency gave me hope, I found that when I applied it to my edges and brushed - less than 5 minutes later I had jungle boogie dancing over my forehead. Nah. No bueno. No!

I had to re-brush and ended up covering my hair with a satin head scarf to "lay my edges" down for me. That helped smooth a bit. After maybe 3 hours, I guess the willpower of my pomade was so weak that it refused to bond with my edges.

instant edge smoothing pomade

I figured this post would come in handy to someone so I had to share my experience. There are few pros to the edge smoothing pomade though:

- The packaging is nice.
- The smell is pleasant.
- No super sticky residue in sight.

Cons: The pomade hold isn't strong enough (at least not for me)

Overall, I would probably give product a 2 out of 5. I'll stick to my love for the Soft nFree GroHealthy Mold + Hold Wax.


WHAT DO YOU USE TO SMOOTH YOUR EDGES ON DAYS YOU DESIRE A MORE SLEEK LOOK?

MAKE MILK HERBAL LACTATION TEA

March 26, 2015
make milk herbal lactation tea

My journey of being a mom these past 8 months have been a great learning experience for me for many reasons. When I chose to pursue attachment parenting, that was something I strongly wanted - so naturally, breastfeeding was to be apart of that. Having that unbreakable bond is important to me.

3 Reasons For Why I'm Loving The LG G3

March 20, 2015

About two months ago I got a new phone! I honestly didn't expect to go with a different brand but I did anyway. I previously gave my electronic life to the Samsung Note 2, which I had since July 2013. It was a great phone.

You would think I would have upgraded and got the Note 5 or whatever but there's a limit to a screen size that I'll settle for. That Note 5 may as well be a table notebook. No thanks.

Finding The Perfect Bra For Stubborn TaTas

March 10, 2015

If you've spent many hours searching the stores for bras that best suit your figure and style, this is for you. I've always had issues with finding the perfect bra for me for as long as I can remember. Let's be real, it's not as easy as it looks and many of us are guilty of wearing bras that are both the wrong size and fit. Shameful, right?

My Top 3 Favorite Eye Tools From ELF Cosmetics

March 3, 2015
eye tools from elf cosmetics

It's been a long..long time coming but I knooooow a change is gonna come! Oh! I haven't shared a beauty-related post in a while and I felt it was time to do so. I often get tons of compliments from people whenever I decide to go the extra mile to put on makeup. I usually have more fun with my eyes so what better post than to share my 3 favorite eye tools, right?

LeKair Natural Curls

January 16, 2015

LeKair, a name that many of you naturalistas may have heard of some time ago. If you're not familiar with them, they're the makers of the epic hair cholesterol. Not to be confused with the other brands in that niche. LeKair is owned by The Stephen Co, founded in 1897 and is a premier manufacturer and distributor of hair care products. I was recently asked to check out their latest product release, LeKair Natural Curls with Avocado Oil.

On The Dot The Perfect Spot + Giveaway [CLOSED]

December 2, 2014
This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are 100% my own.

on the dot the perfect spot review

Hey ladies!! I have something you're going to thank me for. Let's just say when mother nature decides to pay you a visit, this awesome and ....need I say more... SUPER SEXY item will help you combat and prevent those "awkward moments" at home or even in random places like your dorm room.

[re]fresh Skin Therapy Fruit Gel Peel: First Impression

November 20, 2014


Just wanted to quickly share a new product I've been testing for the past 30 days. I've never really been the type to put anything labeled "acid" on my delicate skin but this was something I was more than willing to give a try.

Postpartum Baby Blues + Stroller Madness

October 31, 2014

children n us stroller organizer review

I got to admit that these last 3 months have been a joy with baby around the house and all. Within the last few weeks though, I've been feeling just a tad bit depressed. Is that normal for breastfeeding moms? 

HOTMilk Lingerie Nursing Bra: First Impression

September 29, 2014




There is absolutely nothing sexier than a Hot Mama right? Well, at least I think so. A couple of months ago, I received a piece of sexy maternity lingerie to check out and enjoy. Let's just say, at the time, my boobs actually fit the bra. 

[NATURAL HAIR] Styling With Curlkit Goodies

September 4, 2014


Sup, beautiful people. This product review is looong overdue however, I am so glad to FINALLY get to sharing. The wonderful folk over at CurlKit find me to be somewhat of an expert in natural hair and decided to surprise me with a box to review just for you hair lovers out there. 

I do consider myself to be a serial product junkie, so having this box of goodies is surely feeding into my addiction. *le sigh*

[EYE GOT IT] Firmoo Review + Awesome Multi-Giveaway! -CLOSED

August 25, 2014
       Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission if you click a link and make a purchase. 



I have a serious love for stylish shades and glasses. When I was approached by Firmoo to review their company, I hopped on the bandwagon without hesitation. I'm glad I did. For those of you who enjoy wearing glasses whether it be for your stubborn eyesight or even just for style, you may want to stick around and read more.

......I have something special for 5 lucky winners at the end of this post so check it out when you're done.

Influenster GO VOXBOX | May 2014 Reveal

May 20, 2014
***Products were sent to me complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. I was not compensated and all reviews are 100% my own.***

influenster go voxbox eview

Hey, hey, heyyy!!! It's been quite some tim since I reviewed my last Influenster VoxBox but I have some great stuff to share with you this go 'round. Influenster sent me the GO Voxbox a couple of days ago and the box was huge! I was definitely wondering what on Earth could possibly be inside. Well... let's check it out!

Preggonista Style Box Review| Big Bellies Never Looked SO GOOD!

May 14, 2014
Attention all fashionable mommies-to-be and lady friends! I have something pretty cool to share with you. So, style should never be compromised or put on hold due to several factors in life. That includes pregnancy. I've been enjoying my pregnancy greatly rocking my 6 inch heels, fitted skirts, and all! The wonderful folks over at Preggonista sent me something special to share with you fab preggo mamas.


I don't know about you but I refused to purchase maternity clothes, lol. I'm 29 weeks and haven't had to purchase any tops, bottoms, or anything aside from bras and undies. My lovely lady humps are starting to thicken up. YES!! Luckily, I keep several tunics and such that now simply accentuate my belly curves. Besides, most maternity fashions you find in stores are very boring and mute.